Tuesday, June 15, 2010

5x4 garden plot

We're pretty excited as it seems that we're actually able to grow a few things here in the middle of downtown Vancouver. I mentioned a few posts ago that we were trying our hand at urban gardening - well we've already begun to reap the harvests! Small harvests mind you, but, there ain't nothing wrong with free veggies no matter how few in my eyes. So far we've got some pretty healthy looking kales and a coupla fairly healthy zuchini plants. The growth and success of the latter being especially surprising. We are already munching on the kale and have some nice zuchinis in our fridge. Some of our kales got attacked by root eating maggots which was kind of gross and a bit disappointing but it did free up some space for some tomato plants so we shall see. So far we've just put seedlings and seed in the ground, watered it and boom! Up came these veggies.  We did buy some pretty decent compost for the garden and we used some fairly wormy compost from the compost bins to add growiness to the soil.
As you can see the chard is doing pretty good and our zucchinis are already quite mature.  I'm actually afraid they are going to outgrow the box and start encroaching on our neighbours plots.  Aphids are abounding on most of our stuff but we've been killing them manually so far.  These photos don't really do the garden justice, but if you could've seen this area as the empty gravel lot it was before the community garden moved in, you'd realize the transformation.  So far it's a lot of fun. Maybe I finally had to come to the city to be a country farmer type, but let's not get too carried away.

11 comments:

AgentProvocateuse said...

Use Safers soap, or a tablespoon of castille soap (like Dr. Bronner's) to a liter of water, spray on the aphid death.

R

two-way said...

Ahh... I forgot about bronners. I will try it.

Carabeth said...

the kids and I just got a garden plot this year too! I think I was more excited than they...

I noticed yesterday my neighbor plot had aphid on their tomato, so I squished 'em. There was a ladybug there too, so that's good. You can also buy ladybugs.

Happy gardening

Anonymous said...

Man, really want to know how can you be that smart, lol...great read, thanks.

Anonymous said...

this post is very usefull thx!

Shijun Lin said...

shijun 3.21 1
burberry handbags
links of london
iphone 6 cases
louis vuitton outlet stores
true religion jeans
louis vuitton outlet
lacoste shirts
polo ralph lauren outlet
replica watches
pandora charms
babyliss
polo lacoste pas cher
ray-ban sunglasses
oakley sunglasses wholesale
hollister shirts
lacoste polo shirts
louis vuitton outlet
marc jacobs
marc jacobs outlet
cheap jordans
discount oakley sunglasses
salvatore ferragamo
christian louboutin outlet
coach factory outlet
hollister clothing store
discount oakley sunglasses
michael kors outlet online
giuseppe zanotti
herve leger dresses
ray ban sunglasses
ralph lauren polo shirts
nike air max uk
giuseppe zanotti sale
adidas outlet
air max 90
cheap nba jerseys
lululemon outlet online
burberry outlet online
adidas wings
michael kors handbags

Xiaozhengm 520 said...

2016-4-8 xiaozhengm
louis vuitton outlet
michael kors handbags
cartier watches
nike free run 2
tory burch outlet
polo ralph lauren
oakley sunglasses
kate spade handbags
ray ban sunglasses
polo ralph lauren
longchamp bags
adidas originals shoes
adidas originals
coach outlet
tory burch handbags
kate spade handbags
hollister clothing
replica watches
toms shoes
air jordan pas cher
jordan shoes
ralph lauren outlet
ray ban sunglasses outlet
louis vuitton handbags
michael kors outlet
nike free run
kate spade
michael kors outlet
ray ban sunglasses outlet
michael kors outlet
louis vuitton outlet stores
coach outlet
nike uk
fake watches
replica watches
nike uk
louis vuitton outlet
michael kors outlet online
polo ralph lauren
oakley sunglasses

Cran Jane said...

Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet North Face Jackets Oakley Sunglasses Toms Outlet North Face Outlet Nike Outlet Nike Hoodies Tory Burch Flats Marc Jacobs Handbags Jimmy Choo Shoes Jimmy Choos True Religion Outlet ED Hardy Outlet
Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet

chenlili said...

chenlili20160608
authentic louis vuitton handbags
ralph lauren outlet
toms outlet
cheap louis vuitton handbags
tods outlet online
ray ban sunglasses
louis vuitton handbags
jordan 3s
christian louboutin shoes
louis vuitton outlet
ray ban sunglasses uk
michael kors handbags
michael kors outlet
coach factory outlet online
adidas originals
kevin durant shoes 7
tory burch shoes
hollister uk
coach outlet store online
tiffany jewelry
hollister clothing
louis vuitton outlet
true religion outlet
retro 11
nike blazers shoes
kobe shoes
nike roshe run
kate spade handbags
gucci outlet
ralph lauren
rolex watches
michael kors outlet
louis vuitton bags
michael kors outlet
ray ban sunglasses

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

Unknown said...

ralph lauren outlet
sac longchamp
fitflops sale clearance
replica rolex
cheap michael kors handbags
converse shoes
adidas nmd
skechers outlet
michael kors handbags
omega watches for sale
20170331