Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Up to the BC interior to visit family

My family live in the BC interior as many of you know and it's beautiful up there most of the time and super beautiful in the summer and even the late summer so I was pretty happy to be able to drive up there and visit a few days with my father.  As usual, not much happened which was pretty much what I wanted to happen.  We sat around and talked, caught up, and went for a really nice day hike up a mountain biking trail.  Mostly I hibernated in my fathers small house and ate dried fruit and drank wine at night.  It was a nice time to be in his little town of 300 or so people as most of the tourist rush had passed and people seemed to be slowly returning to a kind of mellower way of life.  I bought a sandwich and a small pizza at a new pizza place that opened up down the road.  Those were key events.  These shots are from the day hike we went on. 


There is an abandoned mine concentrator on this trail above town as well as the remnants of an old mining camp.  The hills around here are full of discarded mining equipment both old and newer stuff left behind by hopefuls and a few lucky strikes.  Apparently the man who owned this giant affair and lived above it in a mansion was ruined by the time the mill closed; his fortunes squandered.  This camp was surprisingly developed.  It had piped water and many amenities like butchers and barbers and the like...





this trail is really nice.  It hugs the shady side of the river valley it runs along and has some nice biking spots including a tram to cross a river.


Here's where the river pours and blasts through some narrow rocks.  Well I didn't see much wildlife until I embarked on the long drive home.  Right on the side of the road I saw mountain goats, and then later a moose and finally nearing Vancouver, a bear.  It was almost ridiculous to see so many animals wandering around all at once, beer commercial ridiculous, but it's good to see the big creatures up and about even if you have to blast by them going at a hundred kilometers an hour and they always kind of have this slackjawed dumbfounded expression on - except the beaver that me and my gal saw once.  That guy was pissed off.

8 comments:

Coach Factory said...

oakley, ugg, ugg, ugg boots, juicy couture outlet, instyler ionic styler, ugg boots, marc jacobs, canada goose outlet, wedding dresses, soccer jerseys, canada goose outlet, rolex watches, gucci, canada goose, soccer shoes, moncler, louboutin, tn pas cher, p90x3, insanity, herve leger, beats by dre, canada goose, canada goose, moncler, mont blanc, jimmy choo, celine handbags, air max, moncler outlet, ugg outlet, asics gel, juicy couture outlet, hollister, babyliss pro, canada goose, giuseppe zanotti, vans, ferragamo shoes, moncler, chi flat iron, ralph lauren, bottega veneta, moncler, uggs on sale, ray ban, mcm handbags, valentino shoes, ghd

Shijun Lin said...

shijun 3.21 4
cheap snapbacks
burberry outlet online
oakley outlet
oakley sunglasses wholesale
nhl jerseys wholesale
snapback hats
tory burch outlet
toms
tory burch outlet online
louis vuitton handbags
toms shoes outlet online
pandora jewelry
new balance
ralph lauren outlet online
ralph lauren outlet
nfl jerseys
hollister clothing
michael kors outlet
thomas sabo uk
thomas sabo
abercrombie
swarovski crystal
kate spade handbags
christian louboutin
pandora
mlb jerseys wholesale
salomon running shoes
longchamp handbags
hollister
louis vuitton
louis vuitton outlet stores
rolex watches
michael kors outlet online sale
oakley sunglasses
prada handbags
cheap ray ban sunglasses
soccer jerseys
mont blanc pens
michael kors outlet
chanel handbags,chanel bags,chanel outlet

Anonymous said...

2016-4-8 xiaozhengm
louis vuitton outlet
michael kors handbags
cartier watches
nike free run 2
tory burch outlet
polo ralph lauren
oakley sunglasses
kate spade handbags
ray ban sunglasses
polo ralph lauren
longchamp bags
adidas originals shoes
adidas originals
coach outlet
tory burch handbags
kate spade handbags
hollister clothing
replica watches
toms shoes
air jordan pas cher
jordan shoes
ralph lauren outlet
ray ban sunglasses outlet
louis vuitton handbags
michael kors outlet
nike free run
kate spade
michael kors outlet
ray ban sunglasses outlet
michael kors outlet
louis vuitton outlet stores
coach outlet
nike uk
fake watches
replica watches
nike uk
louis vuitton outlet
michael kors outlet online
polo ralph lauren
oakley sunglasses

Anonymous said...

2016-4-8 xiaozhengm
michael kors outlet
louis vuitton
adidas trainers
fitflops
cheap jordans
coach outlet online
nike running shoes
michael kors
louis vuitton bags
rolex watches outlet
louis vuitton handbags
louis vuitton
hollister outlet
coach factorty outlet
nfl jerseys
ray ban sunglasses
jordans for sale
michael kors handbags
louis vuitton outlet
fitflops
michael kors outlet
ray ban sunglasses
louis vuitton outlet
coach outlet store online
louis vuitton outlet
polo ralph shirts
replica watches
pandora jewelry
toms shoes outlet online
michael kors handbags
nike trainers
tiffany and co
coach factorty outlet
nike huarache shoes
coach outlet
ray ban sunglasses
michael kors outlet
coach factory outlet
toms shoes
coach factory outlet

Cran Jane said...

Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet North Face Jackets Oakley Sunglasses Toms Outlet North Face Outlet Nike Outlet Nike Hoodies Tory Burch Flats Marc Jacobs Handbags Jimmy Choo Shoes Jimmy Choos True Religion Outlet ED Hardy Outlet
Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet

Eric Yao said...

Ralph Lauren Outlet
Ugg Boots Sale UGGS For Women Skechers Go Walk Adidas Yeezy Boost Adidas Yeezy Adidas NMD Coach Outlet North Face Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Puma SneakersPolo Outlet
Under Armour Outlet Under Armour Hoodies Herve Leger MCM Belt Nike Air Max Louboutin Heels Jordan Retro 11 Converse Outlet Nike Roshe Run UGGS Outlet North Face Outlet
Adidas Originals Ray Ban Lebron James Shoes Sac Longchamp Air Max Pas Cher Chaussures Louboutin Keds Shoes Asics Shoes Coach Outlet Salomon Shoes True Religion Outlet
New Balance Outlet Skechers Outlet Nike Outlet Adidas Outlet Red Bottom Shoes New Jordans Air Max 90 Coach Factory Outlet

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet UGG Outlet Store Markelle Fultz Shoes Coach Outlet
Swarovski Outlet Pandora Outlet Coach Outlet Coach Outlet Michael Kors Outlet Store Michael Kors