Friday, March 19, 2010

Cochabambina Shmochacambina

We are holed up in the very Balmy and comfy city of Cochabamba almost smack-dab in the centre of Bolivia. The bus ride here was a bit crazy, but we made it in two pieces and with our luggage. We took an unconventional route here and as most of the more comfortable busses go at night it meant we had to change busses in Orouro at around 3 in the morning. I guess the spaced-out driver of the bus and his swamper/helper didn´t realize we were jumping off in the middle of the night as the bus was due to go through to La Paz. As we noticed that we were leaving town, I decided to knock on the driver´s cab door. The situation in the cab area of this bus was not conventional and the 4 dudes engaged in heated talk (drink?) were not happy about having to talk to me much less alter their trajectories. We ended up (after some harsh words and 3AM sleepy eyed searching in the luggage compartment for our bags) getting dropped off in a rather deserted industrial zone near the outskirts of the city, which in any town, and especially in South America, is not the nicest place to be walking with all your stuff. Luckily cabs are fairly common in most Bolivian cities and one came by quicky enough that we didn´t have to get that weird, scared, menacing spidey-sense feeling you often get when you´re walking though a totally obviously impoverished and dangerous place and totally obviously not belonging there and totally obviously wishing you weren´t there.

 
Anyway, Cochabamba is a bustling little city that sprawls along the floor of a warm and productive little valley surrounded by dryish and rocky mountains. On the next bus in the morning as the sun came up we were treated to some spectacular views! In terms of climate, it feels a little like parts of Mexico here. So far I´ve found Bolivian cities to be very busy with people. To compare, every night in these citys looks like a festival weekend in Vancouver to me. On warm nights the plazas and streets fill with young and old alike.


Children kick balls, teens make-out and sometimes there´s a performance or a politician is gladhanding for mayorship, but most people just seem to be out for some socializing and people-watching. We´re treating ourselves to a rather nice room with non-electric hot water nozzles and Cable TV as it´s in a very good location and we were desperado for someplace quick to sleep after the big Red-Eye the night before.


Have I mentioned yet that it´s nice to be someplace tropical and warm? Well, the world flocks to such places for many reasons not the least of which is the scent of Jasmine blossoms and possibly new and exotic foods. Bolivia is all bout the meat when it comes to stuffing your maw. I wolfed down this dish just before jumping on the bus and faught it all the way from Sucre to Cochabamba. It´s called Pica Lo Macho and it´s basically a version of Poutine but instead of cheese curd on top it´s 3 meats, yes, 3 meats (chicken, beef, sausage), veggies, egg and hot peppers! Yee Haw! Not for the weak - stomached.

7 comments:

Shijun Lin said...

shijun 3.21 6
coach outlet
salomon speedcross 3
ray ban sunglasses
hollister clothing
cheap oakley sunglasses
ghd hair
replica rolex watches
valentino outlet
true religion outlet
asics running shoes
mlb jerseys
louis vuitton uk
fitflop sandals
mac cosmetics
pandora charms
ray ban aviator sunglasses
true religion
cheap jordans
louis vuitton outlet online
prada shoes
louis vuitton outlet
kobe 9 shoes
cheap soccer jerseys
coach outlet store
mcm handbags
adidas shoes
coach outlet online
ray ban uk
kate spade outlet
swarovski jewelry
michael kors outlet online
burberry handbags
michael kors outlet
timberland shoes
ray ban
asics gel kayano
instyler ionic styler
ray ban sunglasses uk
new balance 574
ray ban sunglasses
cheap mlb jerseys

Anonymous said...

2016-4-8 xiaozhengm
louis vuitton outlet
michael kors handbags
cartier watches
nike free run 2
tory burch outlet
polo ralph lauren
oakley sunglasses
kate spade handbags
ray ban sunglasses
polo ralph lauren
longchamp bags
adidas originals shoes
adidas originals
coach outlet
tory burch handbags
kate spade handbags
hollister clothing
replica watches
toms shoes
air jordan pas cher
jordan shoes
ralph lauren outlet
ray ban sunglasses outlet
louis vuitton handbags
michael kors outlet
nike free run
kate spade
michael kors outlet
ray ban sunglasses outlet
michael kors outlet
louis vuitton outlet stores
coach outlet
nike uk
fake watches
replica watches
nike uk
louis vuitton outlet
michael kors outlet online
polo ralph lauren
oakley sunglasses

Cran Jane said...

Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet North Face Jackets Oakley Sunglasses Toms Outlet North Face Outlet Nike Outlet Nike Hoodies Tory Burch Flats Marc Jacobs Handbags Jimmy Choo Shoes Jimmy Choos True Religion Outlet ED Hardy Outlet
Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet

chenlili said...

chenlili20160608
ray ban sunglasses
jordan retro 11
jordan 3 retro
the north face outlet
louis vuitton bags
oakley sunglasses
louis vuitton outlet
coach factory outlet
air jordan homme
coach outlet
michael kors outlet online
nike uk
michael kors handbags
ray ban sunglasses
concord 11
coach factory outlet online
toms outlet
nike air max uk
michael kors outlet
lebron shoes for kids
louis vuitton purses
louis vuitton outlet stores
tod's shoes
supra shoes
adidas superstars
michael kors canada
kd 8 shoes
coach outlet store online clearances
coach factory outlet
michael kors outlet clearance
rolex watches
louis vuitton outlet
cheap toms
michael kors outlet
michael kors handbags
hollister kids
coach outlet
louis vuitton outlet

Yuanyuan Lin said...

6.21llllluianlongchamp pliage
cazal sunglasses
kobe bryants shoes
hermes belt for sale
nike air max 90
ray ban sunglasses
swarovski jewelry
coach outlet
michael kors factory outlet
polo ralph lauren
oakley sunglasses
herve leger dresses
ferragamo outlet
louis vuitton bags
lululemon uk
cheap nba jerseys
michael kors outlet
kobe shoes
ralph lauren
ralph lauren outlet
burberry outlet
ralph lauren outlet
links of london jewellery
coach outlet
coach handbags outlet
tory burch sandals
ray-ban sunglasses
pandora outlet
nike air force 1
coach outlet
oakley sunglasses
nfl jerseys wholesale
michael kors outlet
beats by dre
ralph lauren outlet
6.21

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

Unknown said...

converse shoes
nike air max 90
new york jets jerseys
christian louboutin outlet
titans jersey
ecco shoes
arizona cardinals jerseys
canada goose jackets
polo ralph lauren outlet
michael kors handbags